Poem #8 – The World Is Breathing

Note: Written for a university course portfolio. Influenced by the poem From an Atlas of the Difficult World by Adrienne Rich.

The World Is Breathing

I know you are breathing
warm, heavy air accumulates
into a dancing puff that spreads against the glass
where its condensation clouds the view
of what lays inside. I know you are breathing
wrapped in a thick layer of wool, fighting off
the battle that invades your surroundings
and causes nothing but the loud palpitations of your heart.
I know you are breathing
in which the seconds are turned into minutes
minutes into hours, hours into days,
and to your dismay, time is a continuum. I know you are breathing
as you observe figures come and go in a blur, fading away until they become
irrevocably consumed from the void.
I know you are breathing to be alive
waiting for the moment that you are no longer the priority
and their presence no longer haunts the walls you sleep in.
I know you are breathing just barely in the sheets
struggling with the fatigue and turmoil that brings
bags under yours eyes—much too young. I know
you are breathing through the screams of silence
where no ache; nor emptiness can be measured in
your escape of mental asylum.
I know you are breathing through it all
with every trudging step and shaky breath,
and yet, I want to know where you stand.
I know you are breathing finding a way to be alive, torn between black and white
wondering what’s real or fake in this inquisition.
I know you are breathing because you are still here
in hopes of an answer—you are who you are.

– Charlotte T.

Leave a Reply

